Autumn: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons

Autumn: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons

By: Melissa Harrison

ISBN: 9781783962488
eBook ISBN: 9781783962495
Cover: Paperback
Published: August 25, 2016
Size: 198x129mm
Page Count: 208 pages


Autumn is a time of transformation. Crisp, clear days mark summer’s close and usher in a new season with its rich scents and vivid palette, leaves flaming red and gold by day, bonfires and fireworks lighting up the lengthening nights. There is abundance, as humans and animals make stores for the winter; and there is decay, which gives rise to the next cycle of life.

In prose and poetry from across the British Isles, Autumn captures both the exhilaration and the melancholy of this turning point in the year. Featuring original writing by Horatio Clare, John Lewis-Stempel and Amy Liptrot, classic extracts from the work of Ted Hughes, Helen Macdonald and Nan Shepherd, and a wealth of fresh new voices, Autumn is an evocative celebration of the year’s decline – and new beginnings.

The other titles in the series include Spring, Summer and Winter – or there’s the entire box set.

  • Waking early in the dark is autumn’s gift, I tell myself. Get out there and smell it, taste it, watch and listen. 64 authors in this fine collection, skilfully assembled by Melissa Harrison, have the same message. The UK in autumn is a feast for the senses. If you feel it is passing you by, dip into these pages

    - Sue Brooks, Caught by the River

Related Books